This went on for quite a while. The blue is for Democrats, the pink for Republicans. They first appear at the presidential level; Texas went for Eisenhower in 1952 and 1956. When John Tower was elected in 1961--in a special election to replace LBJ, who had become vice-president--he became Texas's first Republican senator since Reconstruction (the first from any of the former Confederate states, I think). 

01/02/2013 21:12

Tower was the first from Texas, but there were a couple other post-Reconstruction Republican senators from former Confederate states. Jeter Pritchard served as a U.S. Senator from North Carolina from 1895 to 1903. Newell Sanders served as a U.S. Senator from Tennessee from 1912 to 1913.


Your comment will be posted after it is approved.

Leave a Reply.